Posted on Updated on


In Indian culture, education has always played a huge role, and as a result of it, many scholars have been produced. Considering the importance of education, and continuing the heritage of rich education, University Grants Commission and Government of India have focused more on the quality of the education provided to coming generations. Thus, new exam is taken to find better and talented teachers from the society. There are many parts of different section of educations that are covered under this test.

The UGC has introduced for the first time the Junior Fellowship program, which is the basic qualifying criterion for conducting research in the universities. The whole thing is conducted as per the guidelines of the central government. Since 1988, it is necessary to pass the National Eligibility Test for lectureship, which is commonly called NET. The NET is supervised by the National Eligibility Test Bureau.

The UGCNET has 84 test centers all around the country with 94 subjects in it.  The test is conducted in the month of June, and December every year. For these tests, the notifications are given to the aspirants in advance in the month of March and September.  After the exam is done, the results are released in the month of October for June exam, and April for the test in December.

The subjects included in the exam are:

  • English,
  • Telugu,
  • Hindi,
  • Bengali,
  • Marathi,
  • Law,
  • Economics,
  • Political Science,
  • Psychology, Philosophy,
  • History,
  • Sociology,
  • Education,
  • Commerce,
  • Kannada,
  • Oriya,
  • Punjabi,
  • Sanskrit,
  • Tamil,
  • Arabic,
  • Linguistic,
  • Chinese,
  • Nepali,
  • Manipuri,
  • Gujarati,
  • French,
  • Persian,
  •  Santali,
  • Rajasthani,
  • German,
  • Japanese,
  • Adult Education,
  • Continuing Education,
  • Non Formal Education,
  • Physical Education,
  •  Indian Culture,
  • Labor Welfare,
  • Industrial Relations,
  • Personal Management,
  • Labor and Social Welfare and
  • Human Resource management.

One can take this exam in any of the above subject as per requirement, and interest. But the above subjects are not all that are included in the pattern; there are subjects related to science like, Earth atmospheric Ocean and planetary sciences, Chemical Sciences Life science, Mathematical Science and Physical Sciences.

Previously the exam was descriptive type, but from June 2012, the UGC net exam pattern has been changed to objective type. The exam has three papers, which are as follows:

Paper I:

This is a general paper, which judges the teaching ability of the candidates. It consists of 60 questions distributed in different sections like reasoning, comprehension and general awareness. Every question consists of two marks, and the candidate needs to answer a minimum of 50 questions to clear the cut off.

Paper II:

This consists of 50 questions, and all questions are necessary to answer.

Paper III:

This paper consists of 75 questions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s