Getting prepared for the noble profession of teaching

Posted on


With the change of time, the Indian education system has also changed. Many new courses are started in keeping the mind different growing needs of the society. With an increase in population, demand for more teachers have increased, and many changes are made in the system, to fulfill this demand. Because of this demand only for the first time in the history of education, UGC has introduced the junior fellowship program, which is the necessary basic qualifying criteria for conducting research in the universities. This whole program is conducted as per the regulation and guidelines of the central government. The rest of the arrangements are also made by the UGC.

University Grant Commission Of India (UGC), in association of the National Education Testing Bureau conducts a National Eligibility Test every year for the Indian residents who are willing to join the lectureship or the junior research fellowship program.

Objective of the test:

The objective of this test is to draw a line of eligibility for the candidates who are looking forward to joining the teaching profession and research field. UGC allows a fixed number of fellowships to the universities so that the qualifying candidates can join these universities after the result is declared.

The NET is conducted twice in a single year. The test is held in the months of June and December throughout the country so that all the willing candidates can appear in the exam. The test conducted contains around 78 subjects, which include humanities, environmental sciences, social sciences, forensic sciences, computer science and applications, and many more subjects of different fields. The aspirant can check the syllabus of UGC NET 2013 to choose the subject of his or her choice.


The subjects included in the exam are:

  • English
  • Hindi,
  • Marathi,
  • Telugu,
  • Bengali,
  • Economics,
  • Commerce,
  • Law,
  • Psychology,
  • Political Science,
  • Philosophy,
  • Sociology,
  • History,
  • Education,
  • Oriya
  • Kannada,
  • Punjabi,
  • Tamil,
  • Sanskrit,
  • Linguistic,
  • Arabic,
  • Nepali,
  • Gujarati,
  • Manipuri,
  • Persian,
  • Chinese,
  • French,
  • Santali,
  • Rajasthani,
  • Japanese,
  • German,
  • Continuing Education,
  • Adult Education,
  • Physical Education,
  • Non Formal Education,
  • Indian Culture,
  • Labor and Social Welfare
  • Personal Management,
  • Industrial Relations,
  • Human Resource management

In the previous years, the paper of the NET was subjective type, but since June 2012, the entire exam has been converted to objective type. The paper has three different levels which are as follows:

Paper I:

This is a general type paper, which analyzes the teaching capabilities of the aspirants. This consists of 60 questions, which are distributed in various sections such as reasoning, comprehension and general awareness. Each question carries of two marks and the aspirant needs to attempt a minimum of 50 questions in the paper to clear the cutoff.

Paper II:

This includes about 50 questions from subject chosen by the aspirant, which are all necessary to answer.

Paper III:

This is the last paper of the subject of aspirant, which consists of 75 questions in total, and all are mandatory to attend.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s